Visit the Department of History

Our offices are located in Maybank Hall

The Department of History is located in Maybank Hall and named in honor of Burnet R. Maybank, 1899-1954, class of 1919. Maybank served as mayor of Charleston, became governor of the state and served in the national legislature during the presidency of Franklin D. Roosevelt. Maybank chaired the Senate Finance Committee and played a key role in the development of the New Deal. Maybank Hall, one of the main academic buildings on campus, bears his name.


Contact Us

Chair, Jason Coy 
Office: Maybank Hall, Room 203
Phone: 843.953.8273

Associate Chair, Irina Gigova
Office: Maybank Hall, Room 216
Phone: 843.953.7329

Director Graduate History, Jacob Steere-Williams
Office: Maybank Hall, Room 310
Phone: 843.953.1420

Office Staff:

Carie Thomas
Administrative Coordinator
Office: Maybank Hall, Room 204
Phone: 843.953.5711

Andrea Evans
Administrative Specialist
Office: Maybank Hall, Room 202
Phone: 843.953.1420

Mailing Address:

Department of History
College of Charleston
165 Calhoun Street, Maybank Hall 202
Charleston, SC 29401